Hungarian Board Member in the World Organisation of Design

Hungarian Board Member in the World Organisation of Design

At the biennial General Assembly of the International Council of Societies of Industrial Design (ICSID) in Copenhagen, last week, Judit Várhelyi, Director of the Hungarian Design Council, was elected to the Board.

ICSID is an international organisation of designers, with more than 150 professional, promotional, educational and corporate members from 50 countries. ICSID was founded in Stockholm, in 1957, and holds a joint conference and General Assembly every second year. The next event will be held in San Francisco, in 2007, and Singapore will host the designers in 2009.

The mission of the ICSID is to further the profession of design, its status in society, to highlight best practices, to ensure the protection of intellectual property rights and to develop a better understanding of design for the benefit of all human beings.

Current projects include the publication of a World Design Report, establishing the title of World Design Capital City and creating a web-based platform for educational institutes.

The nine members of the Executive Board are elected for a two-year period. The present board members come from far-flung parts of the World: the USA, India, Taiwan, Chile, Sweden, Italy , South Africa and Hungary. The new President of ICSID is dr. Peter Zec, President of the Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen. Judit Várhelyi, the new Hungarian board member is an architect and has acted as Director of the Hungarian Design Council since 2002.

The Executive Board of ICSID

Dr. Peter Zec, President, Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen

President Elect:
Carlos Hinrichsen, Director, Scool of Design, Instituto Profesional DuocUC of the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Board Members:
Mark Breitenberg, PhD., Dean, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, USA
Tony K. M. Chang , CEO, Taiwan Design Center
Robin Edman, Chief executive, Swedish Industrial Design Foundation
Prof. Lorraine Justice, Head of School of Design, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Dr. Darlie O Koshy, Executive Director, National Institute of Design, India
Giuliano Molineri, President, Frimark srl., Italy
Jae-Sin Shim, Vice-President, LG Elektronics Inc., Korea
Judit Várhelyi, Director, Hungarian Design Council
Adrienne Viljoen, Manager, Design Institute, South African Bureau of Standards